

2018-2019 Commission Members

Advising + Planning + Evaluating + Leading

For almost 50 years the Springfield-Sangamon County Regional Planning Commission (SSCRPC) and its predecessor agencies have met the planning needs of both the City of Springfield and Sangamon County. Along with this



on-going responsibility, the SSCRPC's staff regularly works with many other public and semi-public agencies throughout the area to promote orderly growth and redevelopment, conducting numerous research studies and planning projects each year.

The Commission that oversees this work is made up of 17 members who include representatives from the Sangamon County Board, Springfield City Council, special units of government, and six appointed citizens from the city and county. By its establishing ordinance, the officers of the Commission must be elected from these citizen members.

2018-2019

Commission Officers & Members of the Executive Policy Board

Mr. Larry Hamlin, Chair, Sangamon County Citizen Member Mr. Joe Gooden, Vice-Chair, Springfield Citizen Member

Mr. Kenneth Springs, Secretary, Sangamon County Citizen Member
 Hon. Jim Langfelder, Mayor, City of Springfield (Ms. Bonnie Drew)
 Hon. Andy Van Meter, Chairman, Sangamon County Board
 (Mr. Brian McFadden)

Mr. Dick Ciotti, Chair, Sangamon County Water Reclamation District, Special Districts Representative (Mr. Gregg Humphrey)

Ms. Valera Yazell, Commissioner at Large, Springfield Citizen Member (July 2018 – February 2019)
Vacant, Springfield Citizen Member, March 2019 -

Other Members of the Commission

Mr. Brian Brewer, Chair, Springfield Mass Transit District (Mr. Frank Squires/Mr. Steve Schoeffel)

Mr. Frank Vala, Springfield Airport Authority Board Chair (Mr. Roger Blickensderfer)

Hon. Joe McMenamin, Alderman, City of Springfield Mr. Greg Kruger, Springfield Citizen Member Hon. George Preckwinkle, Member, Sangamon County Board (Mr. Charlie Stratton)

Hon. Andrew Proctor, Alderman, City of Springfield Hon. Leslie Sgro, Chair, Springfield Park District (Mr. Jason Graham)

Hon. Greg Stumpf, Member, Sangamon County Board (Mr. Trustin Harrison)

Hon. Jeff Vose, Sangamon County Superintendent of Schools (Ms. Shannon Fehrholz/Mr. Lyle Wind)

Mr. Eric Hansen, Sangamon County Citizen Member (Indicates member's official designated representative.)

The Commission's Executive Director is appointed by the Executive Policy Board of the Commission and confirmed by the Sangamon County Board.

The Executive Director also serves as the Plats Officer for Sangamon County, Springfield and some other municipalities. Divisions of land must be reviewed by the Plats Officer to ensure compliance with the State Plat Act and local zoning and subdivision regulations.

The Executive Director, or his designee, also serves as Floodplain Coordinator for Sangamon County.

Phone: 217.535.3110 • Fax: 217.535.3111