Sangamon County Information Desk Find out More!
General Information
History and Overview
County Calendars
Phone Directory
Frequent Questions
Employment Opportunities
Fee Schedule
Other Web Sites
Detailed Information
County Board
Election Offices
7th Judicial Circuit Court
Department Information
Fireworks Display Info
Floodplain Information
Dividing Land
Land Use

Election Information
Adopt A Pet
County Board

District 4
Term: 2012 - 2016


 Andy Goleman (R)
 1248 E. Divernon Road
 Divernon, IL 62530
 H: 628-1125

Andy Goleman has spent the majority of his adult life in service to the public. Andy has served diligently on the Sangamon County Board and his knowledge of the needs and wants of the people in District 4 has increased through his leadership on the Board. Andy has always made himself available to the constituents of his district, either by meeting them in person, attending town meetings, through e-mail or via telephone conversations.

In 2001, he was selected by County Board Chairman Van Meter to chair the Ad Hoc Land Use Committee, which made recommendations to the County Board for implementation of a countywide building code and revised zoning ordinances.

In 2007, Andy was selected as Chairman of the Public Health Facility Planning Committee, charged with finding a suitable location for the new Public Health Department building, oversight of the RFP process for the design and construction of the building. The Public Health & Community Services Building opened in August, 2010.

As Finance Chairman, Andy is most proud of the county maintaining a balanced budget and working with all county departments to work within the means of tax caps.

County Board Service

  • Finance Committee Chairman, 2002-Present
  • Election Oversight Committee Member, 2000-Present
  • Road & Bridge Committee Member, 1994-Present
  • Chairman of the Public Health Facility Committee, 2007-2010
  • Comprehensive Fire District Committee Member, 2005-2006
  • Board of Health Member, 2006-Present
  • Insurance Board of Managers Member, 2005-Present
  • Sangamon County Extension Board, 2002-2004
  • Sangamon Scripts Prescription Drug Committee, 2008-Present
  • Central Illinois Economic Development Authority Board, 2010-Present
  • Rural Transportation Ad Hoc Committee Member, 2008-2012
  • Sangamo Scripts Prescription Drug Committee, 2007-Present
  • Garage Consolidation Committee, 2010-Present
  • Past Collective Bargaining Committee Chairman, 1995-2000
  • Past Chairman of the Election Oversight Committee, 2000-2002
  • Past member of the Liquor Committee, 2010-2011
  • Past Vice-Chairman of the Finance Committee, 2000-2002
  • Past member of the Solid Waste Management Committee, 1994-1995
  • Past member of the Public Health, Safety & Zoning Committee, 1994-1995
  • Past Chairman of the Subdivision Land Use Ad Hoc Committee, 2000-2001
  • Past Chairman of the Ad Hoc Health Insurance Task Force

Community Service and Activities

  • Member & past President of Divernon School District Board of Education
  • Member & past President of the Central Area Vocational Center Board of Control
  • Member and past President of the Divernon Jaycees
  • Member and past President of the Board of Directors, Sangamon County Farm Bureau
  • Served on the Illinois School Board Association ABE Lincoln Division
  • Served on the Illinois Farm Bureau Board of Directors
  • Served on the Country Insurance & Financial Services Board of Directors
  • Serve on the Agriculture Advisory Committees for Congressmen LaHood,  Davis and Attorney General Jim Ryan
  • Served as Chairman of the Agriculture Advisory Committee for Congressman John Shimkus
  • Divernon Masonic Lodge # 1158
  • Served on the Western Illinois University Alumni Council
  • Valley of Springfield Scottish Rite Consistory
  • Ansar Temple Shrine
  • Member of the Divernon United Methodist Church

Andy is a graduate of Divernon C.U.S.D. #13, Lincoln Land Community College and Western Illinois University. He farms with his brother John on the family farm in the Divernon/Pawnee area.




Click here to search this site E-mail County Board Members Contact County Board Members